History of the Dunmuir
Guarding the southern entry to the Firth of Forth, Dunbar has a long and fascinating history with a ruined castle and two battles to its name.
Not to be outdone, Dunmuir Hotel also has an interesting past all of its own. Work to create a hotel on this site began in 1898, when construction began on an elegant Victorian building in red sandstone. It had a grand oak staircase, ornate plasterwork and art nouveau fireplaces, and opened for business in 1902 as the Albert Temperance Hotel.
Changes of ownership brought several name changes, first the Albert Temperance Hotel, Goldenstones then the Rossborough. The latest renaming to Dunmuir is the “fourth on The Forth”! Each change of name has seen the hotel evolve to satisfy changing tastes and demands. A two storey extension was added in the 1960’s to create a function suite, which once had a popular skittle alley underneath. The most recent refurbishment has preserved many original features while upgrading the hotel to a high modern standard of comfort and amenity.